Who won the Premier League?

Manchester City have won their fourth title in five seasons, this time by a single point over Liverpool. City clinched the Premier League with a win over Aston Villa.

Pep Guardiola matched Sir Alex Ferguson as the only manager to win four titles in five years — that’s rather exclusive company.

Despite having faced a challenging 2-0 deficit to Villa in the second half, City scored three straight goals in a 10-minute span, two of which came from Ilkay Gundogan. Gundogan came into the game as a substitute at halftime, which was one last right button pressed by Guardiola.

Manchester City: Ilkay Gundogan is the hero they need

About 55 minutes in, City looked flat, with most fans wondering where, exactly, they would find an answer. At that time, Liverpool was tied with Wolves, meaning City still could’ve won the title with a loss. Had they been even on points, goal differential would’ve decided the winner.

Three straight goals later, and two Liverpool goals didn’t matter in the slightest. City took home the title on their own terms, and that’s all you can ask from the team of the decade thus far.

Four title in five years is not an easy task. It’s only been done a few times before — namely by United and Sir Alex Ferguson.

File source

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button